The Macro Files – You Shell Not Pass!

So, I gots me some of them existential tubes . . . I now know my camera exists.

I bought these. Seriously now, extension tubes serve the purpose of letting you focus closer to your subject (they are literally tubes – they do not enlarge the image; no lenses, you see). This post aims to revisit some of the shells from previous posts – enter ‘shells’ in the search box to find them previous posts or, better yet, read all 937 of my posts looking for the shells.

And here’s what you get when you get close . . .

Macro, seashells, shells, Birds, bluebirds, swallows,

You can click on the photo to open a new window or tab with a larger version of the photo.

While I am doing macros, I also enjoy post-processing the shots. Almost all the shots have two versions . . . one is the photo as taken with a light post-processing touch. The other has a heavier touch, and adds a texture. All of the photos with a texture use the same texture, mostly because it looked good to me. The texture I used was ‘rawhide’.

Here’s an example. First up, a shell with the onOne Effects 8 multilayered Disperser tweaks.

Seashells, Macros,

And now, here’s the same shot, still using onOne Effects 8 but now with multilayered Disperser heavy-handed tweaks plus the rawhide texture overlay.

Seashells, Macros,

No, wait . . . that’s the Holla-Wide Disperser tweak . . . well, I’ll let you know when I get to it. I don’t want to deviate from the sequence of shots because I am somewhat of an OCD person, and it would bother me to jump ahead.

Anyway, here’s another angle on the same shell.

Seashells, Macros,

Ain’t she pretty? Here’s one that shows the evidence of a sea-slug attack.

Seashells, Macros,

Here’s another shot of the same shell treated to the Holla-Wide setting.

Seashells, Macros,

But, I can get even closer (and do so without the benefit of a crop).

Seashells, Macros,

And here’s a different shell with more evidence that sea slugs are vicious predators.

Seashells, Macros,

Imagine the terror . . . you think yourself safe in your hardened shell-home, and suddenly (and real slow-like) something begins to scrape at the outside of your shell. You have no internet, no phone, and can’t do much aside wait for the intruder to break in, kill you, melt you, and suck out what used to be you through the same hole.

See now why I keep guns in the house?

Here’s a larger version of the same shell.

Seashells, Macros,

And here’s the same shell without the reminder of the occupant’s gruesome fate.

Seashells, Macros,

Wait a second, Disperser! These are all low light shots. Don’t you believe in bright photos?

Why, yes Bob! Yes I do. But, since these were my first tries with the tubes, and since the camera’s preview shows a brighter JPEG version of the RAW capture, I shot these a tad dark (the tubes rob you of light you see).  The photos get better, but I did not want to go and reshoot these. I probably should have shot these with the camera tethered to a laptop, but that would make me almost like a real photographer, and then people would be asking me to take their photos, and stuff. I shudder at the thought.

Here’s a shell with a better-defined spiral pattern, and no hole.

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

Here’s an interesting shell . . .

Seashells, Macros,

Seashells, Macros,

So, what can you do with extension tubes?

Here’s a shell . . .

Seashells, Macros,

. . . and a close-up of the same shell . . .

Seashells, Macros,

. . . and yet more of a close-up . . .

Seashells, Macros,

. . . and then, you can add the rawhide texture . . .

Seashells, Macros,

Here’s a tiny shell . . .

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

Let me rawhide one of those for you . . .

Seashells, Macros,

Nearly every photo has a rawhide version, but I’m not going to show every photo, nor will I show the rawhide version of every photo I show. The SmugMug gallery has all of the photos for them who like such things (the link is at the bottom of the main text).

Here’s one I will show.

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

These were pretty flat shells. These next ones have ridges . . .

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

Now, some of the ridges are fairly pronounced . . . so much so that grains of sand get caught in them.

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

Rawhide works pretty good on this one . . .

Seashells, Macros,

But, rawhide works best on these kinds of shells . . .

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

Seashells, Macros,

Seashells, Macros,

Seashells, Macros,

Seashells, Macros,

So, how big are these shells?

Seashells, Macros,

Does that help? No? How about this.

Seashells, Macros,

Now, I will show you two shells that are not in any of the above photos, but will be used to compare sizes.

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

And here they are again with some of the shells in the shots above.

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

Here’s a shot I like, but gives no comparative size information.

Seashells, Macros,

What the heck . . . let me rawhide it for you.

Seashells, Macros,

Unfortunately, I don’t have any comparative size information for these next shots . . . but all of these next bivalves are approximately dime-sized.

Some are still attached, some became separated with handling. I like the differing colors. Some do quite well rawhided.

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

Seashells, Macros,

Here’s the flip side . . .

Seashells, Macros,

Yellows are good . . .

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

How about some pink-ish ones?

Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros, Seashells, Macros,

These next pair are about the size of a quarter.

Seashells, Macros,

One last rawhide before I close shop for the night (even if this will post in the morning).

Seashells, Macros,

As I said, all of the above photos, and more, reside in the SmugMug Category “Macros” under the appropriate gallery, in this case, You Shell Not Pass

That’s it. This post has ended . . . except for the stuff below.

<><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><>

Note: if you are not reading this blog post at Disperser.Wordpress.com, know that it has been copied without permission, and likely is being used by someone with nefarious intention, like attracting you to a malware-infested website.  Could be they also torture small mammals.

<><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><>

Please, if you are considering bestowing me recognition beyond commenting below, refrain from doing so.  I will decline blogger-to-blogger awards.   I appreciate the intent behind it, but I prefer a comment thanking me for turning you away from a life of crime, religion, or making you a better person in some other way.  That would mean something to me.

If you wish to know more, please read below.

About awards: Blogger Awards
About “likes”:   Of “Likes”, Subscriptions, and Stuff

Note: to those who may click on “like”, or rate the post; if you do not hear from me, know that I am sincerely appreciative, and I thank you for noticing what I do.

. . .  my FP ward  . . . chieken shit.

About disperser

Odd guy with odd views living an odd life during odd times.
This entry was posted in Macro Photography, Photography, Photography Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Macro Files – You Shell Not Pass!

  1. I think they are very good photographs. Are you satisfied with them? I am still awaiting delivery of mine. Amelia

    • disperser says:

      The extension tubes are not something I envision using often, but the shots I took where I did use them, I liked. I have a couple of other batches of photos with them.

      The next test is to see if they help in the yard. We’ll see.

  2. oneowner says:

    She sells sea shells by the sea shore! Say that 5 times really fast. But seriously, a fine group of photos and shells. My preference is for the non-textured photos, though. The shells don’t need any enhancement like a texture.

    • disperser says:

      Some are not an enhancement so much as a different way to present them.

      I happened to do the snail shell first, and liked how it looked, so I ran a batch job for all of them. Some looked interesting, others not.

      But yes; straight up is usually the better looking shot (except for the snail shell.

      • oneowner says:

        I’m going to have to try to batch process several shots. I’ve never done it before but it could save some time when you have a number of shots and you want to maintain consistency.

        • disperser says:

          It’s easy (there is a batch plugin for onOne), but while I did it here, I like only a few of the treated photos.

          Typically I’ll manually chose the treatments, but with 150 photos, that would have taken a while. Besides, as you said, the shells as are are probably the best.

  3. goofier says:

    Testing

  4. AnnMarie says:

    I had not realized how small these shells really are! But you did a wonderful job at photographing them so we can see their intricate details. Certainly beautiful of their own accord, adding that ‘rawhide’ treatment turned many of the photos to works of art. Nicely done!

Voice your opinion

