December 2013 Drive – Car and Longhorns

We’ve had a few days of very nice weather; middle 50s with sunny skies, and very little wind. It snowed overnight, 3-4 inches, maybe more, but yesterday we decided to go for a drive before the weather settled in.

We headed up to Castle Rock, and the outlet mall. Had not been there for a spell, and wanted to see how the place was doing. It seemed busy enough.

From there we headed East to Elizabeth, one of the small towns out in the middle of the prairie. Went to see a couple of antique stores, we did. We found nothing of interest, but it was fun walking around.

Keeping an eastward heading, we reached Kiowa, and turned south toward Elbert. Just south of Kiowa we passed a car I’d seen a couple of times in prior years. It sits near the entrance to one of the many ranches in the area. Unlike other times, yesterday I stopped for some photos.

Chevy Master Deluxe

Chevy Master Deluxe

The above is a panorama of the car, and the car is a Chevrolet Master Deluxe. The vintage is likely late 30s to early 40s. Another article about the car is HERE.  Not about this particular car, but this model car in general.

Old Car, Old Car,

It’s not a bad-looking car, and despite the age, it looks like it could seriously hurt a Prius. Of course, the Prius would have to run into this beauty, as she is not too mobile.

Old Car,The license plate presumedly points to the last year this car was running as 1962.

We had stopped at a Safeway for some sandwiches, and shortly after taking these photos, we pulled off the road to enjoy our Italian Subs. Mind you, not as good as the ones we make, but tasty just the same. Washed them down with some water, loaded our cups with coffee from our thermos, and we were back rolling.  

A few miles from Elbert, one can see this house from the road . . . 

House Hill,

It looks like a neat place for a house, and it also looks like a neat house.

House Hill,

A nice, high vantage point . . . clear some of those trees, put down a few landmines, a couple of automatic machine guns covering the access up the hill, and you got something there.

Texas Longhorn

Texas Longhorn

In a fields adjacent to the road, four Texas Longhorns looked at me snapping away. I could tell they wanted their photo taken.

Texas Longhorn, Texas Longhorn,

From previous encounters with these striated colors, I knew the proper name was brindle coloring.

This guy walked very slowly to a small stream, and he drank for a long time. I think he and the others are all of advanced age, but I must confess to little expertise in determining bovine age.

Texas Longhorn, Texas Longhorn,

The hind quarter of the bull reminded me of the back of the head of a large Tony the Tiger (TM). This guy was the more animated of the bunch, and he moved at a glacial pace.

Texas Longhorn,

This guy never moved. Got to admit . . . them be a set of impressive horns. I think I would like a pair if I could get my hands on some at a reasonable price. I probably can’t.

The drinker eventually lifted his head (we thought it had fallen asleep), and moved ever-so-slowly back toward the others.

Texas Longhorn, Texas Longhorn, Texas Longhorn,

I pulled myself up onto my own metal steed, and continued to Elbert. On our last visit there we had found two antique shops, and wanted to spend a bit of time browsing dead people’s stuff.

Unfortunately, one had permanently closed (we were not surprised – their prices were a tad high when we last visited), and the other was closed for the holidays.

While a bust, it was still a nice drive, and it got me a few photos. What more can one ask for a lazy Saturday afternoon? We even got home before the weather hit.

As usual, the original photos can be found at the SmugMug gallery, HERE.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ o o o o o o ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Orderly Fear

Orderly Fear

Astute persons might have noticed these doodles, and correctly surmised they hold some significance for me, and perhaps for humanity at large.  

If you click on the doodle, and nothing happens, this is the link it’s supposed to go to: http://disperser.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/palm-vx-and-i/.

<><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><>

Note: if you are not reading this blog post at Disperser.Wordpress.com, know that it has been copied without permission, and likely is being used by someone with nefarious intention, like attracting you to a malware-infested website.  Could be they also torture small mammals.

<><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><>

Please, if you are considering bestowing me some recognition beyond commenting below, refrain from doing so.  I will decline nominations whereby one blogger bestows an award onto another blogger, or group of bloggers.   I appreciate the intent behind it, but I would much prefer a comment thanking me for turning you away from a life of crime, religion, or making you a better person in some other way.  That would actually mean something to me.

Should you still nominate me, I will strongly suspect you pulled my name at random, and that you are not, in fact, a reader of my blog.  If you wish to know more, please read below.

About awards: Blogger Awards          About “likes”:   Of “Likes”, Subscriptions, and Stuff

Note: to those who may click on “like”, or rate the post; if you do not personally hear from me, know that I am sincerely appreciative, and I thank you for noticing what I do.

. . .  my FP ward  . . . chieken shit.

About disperser

Odd guy with odd views living an odd life during odd times.
This entry was posted in Animals, Cars, Machines, Photography, Photography Stuff, Stuff, Texas Longhorns and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to December 2013 Drive – Car and Longhorns

  1. sandra getgood says:

    You’d put land mines around that gorgeous house? No uninvited guests for you, I see!

    Really like the look of that Chevy. I find myself liking the looks of, .the lines of, cars from the late 30′s, early 40′s. Very pleasing to the eye. It makes me wonder what on earth the automakers were thinking when they came out with the cars of my childhood. Long as a city block, with odd-looking fins, they looked like beached whales, I can’t imagine how anyone was able to park them

    .It’s always interesting to see what catches your eye, and then to see what you do with the pictures you take of what you see.

    • disperser says:

      I learned how to drive in a 1960 Cadillac Sedan DeVille (like this one http://www.simoncars.co.uk/cadillac/cadillac59.html only white). My stepfather did few things right, but he did insist I learn how I handle a car. We used to go to the White Sox Stadium down the street from where we lived, and had me do slaloms around the concrete pillars in the parking lot . . . in reverse.

      That was good practice for years later when I started owning Suburbans (I always back into the garage, and used to do so with the Burb, angling it in to fit it beside the Tahoe.

      And I agree . . . lots of character in those old cars, something lacking in later models

      That said, I loved the 1960 Caddy. Power seats, windows, all sorts of power options, tremendous visibility, and them pointy fins would have been great to dispatch ogres and trolls (hence why I learned to drive in reverse). Many similar features in the cars of the era looked gaudy, but that particular model had what I consider elegant lines.

      As for the land mines . . . yes, my continued disappointment with the majority of the human race has me leaning more and more to isolating myself by any means possible.

      And thanks for your continued interest in my photography efforts.

    • disperser says:

      I forgot to mention . . . had I lived in Texas, that car would have had them longhorn horns on the hood . . . killing two birds with one bone, so to speak.

  2. colonialist says:

    I wonder what make and model those brindle ones are? As I recall, the straighter handlebar specials are the typical preserve of the Texas Longhorn.
    The house blends really well. I hate it when buildings jar horribly, especially when on the tops of hills.

  3. oneowner says:

    I agree, the 11960 Caddy was light-years better looking than the 1959. But I’, missing the boat on the whole Suburban/Tahoe thing. The old Chevy in the photos is way better looking. Way, way better.

    • disperser says:

      The Caddy got me used to lo-o-o-ong cars, and unafraid to back up with them. Before I sold the Suburban, I owned both a Chevy Tahoe, and a GMC Suburban.

      I back into my garage, which at the time meant backing into a garage with the Suburban while the Tahoe was already parked inside. That means angling the car as one back in, and cutting the wheel to end up parked parallel to the Tahoe once inside (the opening of most garages is not wide enough to back in straight).

      I found it easy, and executed the maneuver almost without thinking. Others thought that was just nuts.

      As for the relative beauty of the Suburban versus the old Chevy . . . don’t you go dissin’ my B^3!!!

      http://disperser.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/the-end-of-the-b3-era/

      http://disperser.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/viki-good-to-see-you/

Voice your opinion

