June 2013 Flowers – DxO Edition

Pink and white geraniums

Pink and white geraniums

This seems the opportune time to continue with my 2013 flowers photographs. And what do you know, all of these are also treated in DxO Pro 9.

Mind you, these are not fantastic photos, but as the snow is falling, the temperatures are falling, and my eyelids are falling, this quick post will serve as the gateway for things to come.

Pink geraniums

Pink geraniums

This year we had an interesting mix of geraniums. Aside the red we usually get, we also had other shades. Some you’ve seen documented earlier in the year in blog posts showcasing photos from my Samsung Note II.

These are some of the earliest photos I took, as we had a late Spring.

Yellow mini Petunia and blue Phlox

Yellow mini Petunia and blue Phlox

Purple-pink Phlox

Purple-pink Phlox

This next flower always gets me scrambling for the name, and then gives me a surprise when I find it. It’s a Cranesbill Geranium. This is a perennial in my yard, and it does well every year.

Cranesbill Geranium

Cranesbill Geranium

All of these photos have excellent detail which probably does not come through in the sizes used in the blog. Here’s and example.

Cranesbill Geranium

Cranesbill Geranium

Columbines, some native and some from Michigan, are some of the earliest flowers to bloom.

Columbine

Columbine

Also offering decent detail . . . 

Columbine

Columbine

Perhaps a view not often showcased . . . 

Columbine

Columbine

As usual, I will mention the SmugMug Gallery (HERE) where one can go and enjoy some of the detail. 

I know full well few will click on the link, but as an incentive, here’s what you are missing . . .

This next shot is a crop of a larger photo.

Blue Spruce

Blue Spruce

This next photo is at about 60% of actual resolution of the above crop . . . 

Blue Spruce

Blue Spruce

Blue Spruce

Blue Spruce

And this is the 1:1 resolution of the above crop (meaning, if you go to SmugMug, and choose “original” size, this is what you see).

Blue Spruce

Blue Spruce

All of those are from the same photo. This next one is from a different photo.

Blue Spruce

Blue Spruce

So, those are not technically (or actually) flowers. Let me continue with the columbines.

Columbine

Columbine

Now, these are from the plants we had in Michigan. They don’t grow as well here, as they should have already covered the area where they are planted, but they have been coming back every year for nine years. I’ll take what I can.

Columbine

Columbine

As I was snapping away, a big ole cloud swung by to put the area in the shade, so these next ones were shot using a fill-flash (hence the shine – which you can’t see here, but would in SmugMug).

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

Columbine

I prefer natural light . . . and here are some daisies in natural light.

Daisy

Daisy

Daisy

Daisy

How about some Verbena?

Verbena

Verbena

Verbena is difficult to depict. The intense color tends to wash out, losing details of the texture.

. . . let me go back to the daisies . . . 

Daisies

Daisies

Daisies

Daisies

Let me try the Verbena one more time . . . 

Verbena

Verbena

They just don’t look right . . . 

Oh, this year we had a number of colorful Petunias (there will be more in future posts).

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

When I hear, say, or think Petunia, I am instantly reminded of the Three Stooges. Old fogies will know why.

These are a dark purple, and they have these smoke-gray hues or textures. Maybe it’s just the light hitting them just right, but regardless of what they are, they are difficult to photograph.

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Petunia

Here’s another geranium, also a slightly different color than what I’m used to.

Geranium

Geranium

In honor of The Three Stooges, one last shot of Petunias.

Petunia

Petunia

As I said before, DxO Pro does not mess with the photos a whole lot. These are pretty close to how they look out of the camera, with minimal adjustments in brightness, exposure, contrast, sharpening, and other such basic stuff one needs to do when shooting RAW.

I like these better than the normal processing I do, which looks good when I’m working with it, but when shown in a gallery it can looks overdone. 

As I said . . . might be worth going to the SmugMug Gallery HERE.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ o o o o o o ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Abstract Fear

Abstract Fear

Astute persons might have noticed these doodles, and correctly surmised they hold some significance for me, and perhaps for humanity at large.  

If you click on the doodle, and nothing happens, this is the link it’s supposed to go to: http://disperser.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/palm-vx-and-i/.

<><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><>

Note: if you are not reading this blog post at Disperser.Wordpress.com, know that it has been copied without permission, and likely is being used by someone with nefarious intention, like attracting you to a malware-infested website.  Could be they also torture small mammals.

<><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><>

Please, if you are considering bestowing me some recognition beyond commenting below, refrain from doing so.  I will decline nominations whereby one blogger bestows an award onto another blogger, or group of bloggers.   I appreciate the intent behind it, but I would much prefer a comment thanking me for turning you away from a life of crime, religion, or making you a better person in some other way.  That would actually mean something to me.

Should you still nominate me, I will strongly suspect you pulled my name at random, and that you are not, in fact, a reader of my blog.  If you wish to know more, please read below.

About awards: Blogger Awards          About “likes”:   Of “Likes”, Subscriptions, and Stuff

Note: to those who may click on “like”, or rate the post; if you do not personally hear from me, know that I am sincerely appreciative, and I thank you for noticing what I do.

. . .  my FP ward  . . . chieken shit.

About disperser

Odd guy with odd views living an odd life during odd times.
This entry was posted in Columbines, Flowers, Geraniums, Petunia, Phlox, Photography, Photography Stuff, Stuff, Verbena and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to June 2013 Flowers – DxO Edition

  1. colonialist says:

    The camera certainly picks up incredible detail in the full-size editions.
    That phlox has an amazingly vivid shade.
    Pity the verbena goes funny-petunia on you.

  2. sandra getgood says:

    Your pictures brightened up my office beautifully….not only the colors, but the pictures were so detailed I could almost smell the verbena. .. I love holly, and Christmas can be a lovely time of year, but those pictures make me miss the month of June..

  3. Wonderful photos. But now I can’t wait for spring.

  4. oneowner says:

    Any series that includes Columbine is alright by me. well done. Looks like I’ll have to look into DxO Pro.

    • disperser says:

      I think they have a 30 days trial. Also, there are two versions, with the Elite version including higher-end cameras. I have the Standard edition, and the current price is $99 until Dec. 25 (normally $169). The elite is $199, normally $299.

      The Elite handles FX camera and lens combination, and the Standard works with DX DSLRS and lower-end cameras.

      This is the “selection page” based on equipment:
      http://www.dxo.com/intl/photography/dxo-optics-pro/supported-equipment

      No, I don’t get anything for promoting them. In fact, I’m not promoting them; just saying I like their product.

  5. araneus1 says:

    Really enjoyed that thank you……. needed to sleep but I had to see them all. Stunning shots.
    Terry

  6. AnnMarie says:

    The unopened buds in the center of the second Verbena photo, when viewed in Original in the SmugMug gallery, are beyond description . . . sublime and exalted magnificence . . . OK, back to Earth . . . but now I’m rendered speechless by so much beauty. Bravo to you and Nature.

    • disperser says:

      I’m not gonna share credit . . . lots of maintenance went into the flowers this past year. Had it been up to Nature, they would have withered, dried, and their dust been blown away by the hot winds.

Voice your opinion

