Pre-Solstice Frost – The Phone Edition

County Line Road

County Line Road

That was the view yesterday morning while driving along County Line Road, the road serving to mark the boundary between El Paso and Douglas Counties, here in Colorado.

A cloud had been hovering in the area since the previous evening, and as clouds and sub-freezing temperatures are wont to do, they coated nearly everything with frost.

Before I continue, I should give a nod to a huge milestone since I started this blog. For the first time ever, and three-quarters through the day, I’ve had zero visits or views. Mind you, soon after I started this post, I had one visitor and three views. 

I’m coming into focus, coming into my own . . . anyway, on with the post.

20131220_084436_HDR_1_DIGI

After I took this series of photos, I went out on a two hour drive, and the next post will have those photos (taken with my Nikon), some 130 of them. No, I won’t post all, but darn near. 

I mean, if no one is going to look at them, why bother to make the post manageable to read?

Meanwhile, these were snapped with my Samsung, processed in Snapseed, imported into Lightroom (part of my backing up regimen), and exported for this post. The above is one of my shrubs. 

Here is one of the decorative pieces in my front yard.

20131220_084459_HDR_1_DIGI

This next one is one of the many pines that hatched from seeds, and are growing in my yard. We’re waiting to see how well they do, and eventually we’ll replant.

20131220_084608_HDR_1_DIGI

Snapseed has an HDR option . . . wanna see it?

20131220_084608_HDR_1_1_DIGI

These are two views of the aspens guarding our drive.

20131220_084811_HDR_1_DIGI 20131220084744_1_DIGI

These kind of shots are a tad outside the capabilities of the phone . . . 

20131220_084934_HDR_1_DIGI 20131220_084912_1_DIGI

Even these, while OK, are pushing the phone a bit. The low light and low contrast make the phone good for these kinds of shots . . . 

20131220084715_1_DIGI

20131220085025_1_DIGI

While OK, even those shots are somewhat blah . . . hence why one has to be creative, have a vision . . . 

20131220084413_1_DIGI

These next few were taken during my drive . . . much better, and more latitude with composition . . . 

20131220111505_1_DIGI

20131220111636_1_DIGI

20131220111643_2_DIGI

Well, that’s it for this post. I’m gonna go watch Man of Steel

Perhaps I’ll do the other post later tonight. Or not. I suppose tomorrow morning will do just as well for all them people waiting to read it.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ o o o o o o ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Ogre Art

Ogre Art

Astute persons might have noticed these doodles, and correctly surmised they hold some significance for me, and perhaps for humanity at large.  

If you click on the doodle, and nothing happens, this is the link it’s supposed to go to: http://disperser.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/palm-vx-and-i/.

<><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><>

Note: if you are not reading this blog post at Disperser.Wordpress.com, know that it has been copied without permission, and likely is being used by someone with nefarious intention, like attracting you to a malware-infested website.  Could be they also torture small mammals.

<><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><o><><><><><><><><><>

Please, if you are considering bestowing me some recognition beyond commenting below, refrain from doing so.  I will decline nominations whereby one blogger bestows an award onto another blogger, or group of bloggers.   I appreciate the intent behind it, but I would much prefer a comment thanking me for turning you away from a life of crime, religion, or making you a better person in some other way.  That would actually mean something to me.

Should you still nominate me, I will strongly suspect you pulled my name at random, and that you are not, in fact, a reader of my blog.  If you wish to know more, please read below.

About awards: Blogger Awards          About “likes”:   Of “Likes”, Subscriptions, and Stuff

Note: to those who may click on “like”, or rate the post; if you do not personally hear from me, know that I am sincerely appreciative, and I thank you for noticing what I do.

. . .  my FP ward  . . . chieken shit.

About disperser

Odd guy with odd views living an odd life during odd times.
This entry was posted in HDR, Macro Photography, Photography, Photography Stuff, Snow, Stuff, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pre-Solstice Frost – The Phone Edition

  1. araneus1 says:

    love the ‘fence shots’. You live in a beautiful part of the world…….. and you got a white Christmas which is impossible here unless our bean bag breaks….. don’t snigger, it has happened!
    Terry

  2. oneowner says:

    Terrific frost photos. We don’t see much of that here, we just get dumped on with snow. I’m having fun with the Snapseed app, too!

  3. sandra getgood says:

    The frost pictures are incredible…. just beautiful!

  4. colonialist says:

    I like your utility vehicle. Very energy-efficient. And, as you say, decorative.
    We have just finished a very hot day featuring saturated solutions of kids. I spent some time in the pool, too.

    • disperser says:

      You poor thing! Sorry to hear.

      . . . And yes, very energy efficient, if awkward. I put stuff in it, and then I have to pick it up and carry it. Not only that, I have to be careful how I support it; not made by what I would consider a craftsman.

  5. John says:

    Beautiful images … I think these kinds of light snow, that just cover everything, outline everything, are my favorite. They give the world a whole new look.

    • disperser says:

      Agree . . . but I was remarking to my wife on the way home earlier . . . once it warms up, the world looks messier than if it had not snowed/frosted. Cars get dirty, and the normal blah browns are accented with mud.

      I suppose everything must return to balance.

      . . . but yes; I enjoy the pristine mantles when they dominate the landscape.

  6. AnnMarie says:

    I’m sure you take photos and write for the pure JOY of it AND for the great pleasure it gives us (your loyal followers, irregardless of the number). And by ‘loyal’ I mean those that feel deep appreciation for your artistic and creative abilities and that share the love you so obviously have for the natural world.

    Perhaps Hugo Cabret (from the movie HUGO) was right when he said:
    “I like to imagine that the world is one big machine. You know, machines never have any extra parts. They have the exact number and type of parts they need. So I figure if the entire world is a big machine, I have to be here for some reason. And that means you have to be here for some reason, too.”

    So, thanks for the great TEXTURE shots all that frost provided!!! Can’t wait for the post with the Nikon shots so I can go to SmugMugLand!

Voice your opinion

